Welcome to the Cobb County School District!

Chris RagsdaleChris Ragsdale

Our success as the 2nd largest school district in Georgia is evidenced through the work of our awesome teachers and students, and we help our students to maximize their learning potential through a firm commitment to hiring quality teachers, engaging our families, and partnering with our community.

In Cobb, our students outpace their peers across the nation on standardized tests, many of our schools are state and national schools of excellence, and our graduation rate of 84% is one of the highest in the country. It is incumbent on us to offer our students as many opportunities for success as possible. With our One Team, our One Goal of Student Success will always be our focus.  Thank you for visiting!

Executive Cabinet

Dr. Kevin Daniel
Chief of Staff
Chief Strategy & Accountability Officer
Sherri Hill
Chief School Leadership Officer
Bradley Reuben Johnson
Chief Financial Officer
Jennifer Lawson
Chief Academic Officer
Marc Smith
Chief Technology & Operations Officer
Keeli Bowen
Chief Human Resources Officer

Mr. Ragsdale's Bio

Chris Ragsdale is a transformational educator whose dynamic leadership continues to serve as the driving force for academic excellence in Cobb County.

He is currently superintendent of the Cobb County School District, the second largest public school system in Georgia and 23rd largest in the United States, with an enrollment exceeding 113,000 students.

Mr. Ragsdale previously served the Cobb County School District as Deputy Superintendent for Operations from 2011-2014 and as Chief Technology Officer from 2006-2014, where he managed plant operations, safety, transportation, maintenance, and technology integration.

He has more than two decades of experience in school operations and information technology in the public and private sectors, including roles as Chief Information Officer for nearby Paulding County Schools and in network and database management for Bellsouth (AT&T) and IBM.

Mr. Ragsdale has also been responsible for planning and execution of capital projects approved by Cobb voters and funded by the Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST).

Mr. Ragsdale obtained a bachelor’s degree in Information Systems and a master's degree in Educational Leadership from Kennesaw State University. Mr. Ragsdale and his wife currently reside in Cobb County.

2019-20 Superintendent’s Principal Advisory Council
Pamela Cain - Mableton Elementary
Dr. Patrice Jones - Powers Ferry Elementary
Dr. Liss Maynard - Clarkdale Elementary
Dr. Shannon McGill - Timber Ridge Elementary
Dr. Patrice Moore - Bullard Elementary
Susan Hallmark - Addison Elementary
Adam Hill - Dickerson Middle
Lisa Jackson - Palmer Middle
Leetonia Young - East Cobb Middle
Dr. Tom Flugum - Pope High
Angela Stewart - Hillgrove High

2019-20 Superintendent's Teacher Advisory Council
Becky Banks - Acworth Elementary
Emily DeVane - Bryant Elementary
Leslie Jones - East Side Elementary
Sabrena Dowe - Sanders Elementary
Jeannie Schuetze - Shallowford Falls Elementary
Ammie McGinley - Timber Ridge Elementary
Natosha Miller - Cooper Middle 
Jennifer Rabbitt - Daniell Middle
Janie Smalley - Dodgen Middle
Audrey Rice - Lost Mountain Middle
Hilary Minich - Lassiter High
Alicia Baynes - McEachern High
Lauren Bales - South Cobb High
Julie Brown - Walton High

Business and Community Advisory Committee
Bill Brantley - Ed Voyles Automotive Group
Jay Cunningham - Superior Plumbing Service
Kristy Flowers - 9th District PTA
Laura Hazelip - Chattahoochee Tech
Mark Justice - Cobb EMC
Judge Tain Kell - Cobb County Superior Court
Tricia Knor - Parent Involvement, The Persons Firm, LLC
Dr. Michael Lewis - Roswell Street Baptist Church
John Loud - Loud Security
Sharon Mason - Cobb Chamber of Commerce
Kim Paris - Wellstar
Scott Reed - Chick-fil-A
Frank Wigington - Frank Wigington Landscape Service